Public Announcements

2020 COY Awards Announced

Nov. 4, 2019

Chef of the Year Dinner 2020

Four Seasons Hotel
Sunday, November 3, 2019

Since 1965 the Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis has bestowed upon one of its membership the honor of Chef of the Year. Nominees for this honor must show a high level of culinary skill, project high moral standards and be active in the association’s events throughout out the year. Tonight’s Honorees are 2020 Chef of the Year Logan Christensen, CEC and 2020 Junior Culinarian of the Year Luke Miller.

Without the generosity of the following individuals and companies, this event would not have been possible:

  • Charles Dubuque of Dubuque Coffee Company
  • Christine Allhoff of Performance Foodservice Middendorf
  • Dan O’Neil of Ronnoco Coffee Company
  • Christine Laurentius for the Center Pieces and Flowers
  • Allan Gers of Need-a-Uniform
  • Matt Sherman of Kern Meat Company
  • Dan Bippen and Chad Lombardo of Kuna Foodservice
  • The Ambassadors of Swing

In addition, the Four Seasons Hotel and staff who were instrumental in hosting the event.

  • General Manager- Alper Oztok
  • Executive Chef – Mhammad Bachar
  • Director of Banquets- Hardy Kohler
  • Events Managers- Jessica Wester & Shane McCarley

Finally, special thanks go to the past year’s Chef of the Year, Chef Scott Scheible, for all his work in organizing this event.

Presidential Awards

Each year the President of the ACF Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis presents Presidential Awards for Outstanding Contributions towards the chapter. This year’s recipients are:

Brian Hardy, C.E.C., C.C.A., A.A.C.

Two-term chapter president and two-term ACF National Central Region Vice-President. He has generously given his time and provided countless resources over the years to younger generations and to our chapter.
Christy Schlafly
A long-standing partner of our chapter and the culinary community. President of Ford Hotel Supply, she is always the first to say yes, a willing volunteer of time and resource, a cheerleader of all of us and so much more.

Tip of the Toque Award

The Tip of the Toque award goes this year to the South Tech High School Culinary DepartmentChefs Melissa Manessand David Bass. Whether it be hosting a meeting or competition, or simply sending student volunteers to assist anywhere, anytime, they have stepped up and continue to contribute to our chapter in a big way.

2019 Purveyor of the Year Award

Every year the Board of Directors name one of our Chapter Partners as “Purveyor of the Year”. This is always a very difficult decision since all our chapter partners are very generous and committed to not only the industry but the chapter and its members.

Belmont Party Rentals (Paul Belmont)

“Proudly serving St. Louis since 1975” and serving the ACF Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis for that long as well. They are a regular fixture at our ACF Cheftoberfest, offering tables, linens and “whatever you need,” and have been a committed and consistent contributor for many years.

2019 Restaurant of the Year Award

The Restaurant of the Year award was established in 2015 to acknowledge a restaurant that contributes to our community, is committed to supporting student culinarians through education and mentorship, and who preserves the history and skills of our culinary industry through operations.

Nippon Tei

2020 Ollie Sommer Mentor Award

Established in 2002, the Ollie Sommer award is presented to a member who demonstrates the ability to mentor, guide and lead the next generation of chefs in our industry.

Brian Bernstein

2020 Dubois Chen Award

The Dubois TC Chen award was established in 1987. This award is presented annually to a member in good standing who best exemplifies the hospitality, camaraderie and professionalism of the culinary profession.

Bob Colosimo, C.E.C., C.C.A., A.A.C.

2020 Junior Culinarian of the Year Award

The ACF Chefs de Cuisine Association Junior Culinarian of the Year Award was established in 1989. To be eligible for this award, the recipient must be a member in good standing of the junior chapter. Honorees must be employed in culinary industry, preferably in an establishment with a certified chef on staff. Award recipients must show a sincere desire to become proficient in the profession, be active in chapter activities and adhere to the Culinarians Code. This award is also decided by a culinary challenge. First the Board of the Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis nominates the top two junior chefs to participate. The finalists then compete in a cook off to determine the winner. 

Luke Miller

2020 Chef of the Year Award

Every year The Chef of the Year committee gathers qualified candidates and decides on the top three individuals that best represents the title of Chef of the Year. Voting by our membership narrows the field to two deserving Chefs. Preparing for this or any culinary competition requires a lot of work and dedication.

Logan Christensen, C.E.C.

Both the Chef of the Year and Junior Culinarian of the Year were presented with a fine set of knives, presented by Chad Lombardo of Kuna Foodservice, and specially designed chefs jackets, donated by Alan Gers of Need-a-Uniform.

After dinner, Dan O’ Neil of Ronnoco Coffee Company presented the traditional Silver Platter. Chefs Paul Kampff and Kevin Storm read proclamations from St. Louis Mayor Lyda Krewson and St. Louis County Executive Sam Page, respectively. The Chef of the Year Medallion was presented by Christine Allhoff of Performance Foodservice Middendorf and the Chef of the Year Pin was presented by Charles Dubuque of Dubuque Coffee Company.